2023 PROGRAM at-a-glance

8:00 AM
Registration & Breakfast
8:30 AM
Welcoming Remarks
Featuring Conference Chair, VIPs and Dignitaries
8:45 AM
Transformative Trends in Deep Decarbonization

Kaitlin Carroll, Retrofit Services Manager, The Atmospheric Fund

Jayson Myers, CEO, Next Generation Manufacturing Canada

Vincent Guglielmo, Director of Innovation Initiatives, Canadian Urban Transit Research and Innovation Consortium

9:30 AM

9:45 AM
DAN WICKLUM, PhD, Ceo, The transition accelerator

pathway to a FOSSIL-FREE sweden

Adam Ayres, Chair, Swedish-Canadian Chamber of Commerce

10:30 AM

Smart Buildings

Cyrus Tehrani, Chief Digital Officer and Director of Innovation, City of Hamilton

Ryan Rogers, VP Operations, Parity Inc.
Remo Di Fonzo, VP Sales, KODE Labs
Rob Hallewick, Co-Founder and CEO, NERVA Energy Group Inc. 

Marc Bellini, CTO Canada Market Team, VP Sales Engineering, Nokia

Circular Manufacturing

Greg Zilberbrant, Ph.D., Adjunct Assistant Professor, W Booth School, McMaster University and founder Beyond21 Academy

Hamilton LRT Project from a Sustainability Perspective 

Abdul Shaikh, Director, Hamilton LRT Office

11:30 AM
Green Buildings

Tony Cupido, PhD, Research Chair, Sustainable Building Tech., Mohawk College

Emma Cubitt, Principal, Invizij Architects Inc.

Jennifer Kinnunen, Architect, Smoke Architecture Inc. 

Future of Hydrogen

Kate Flynn, General Manager, Centre for Climate Change Initiatives at Mohawk College

Gary Grahn, Chief Operations Officer, GH Power

Ken Stewart, Chief Engineer, GH Power

Dan Wicklum, CEO, The Transition Accelerator

Reza Kholghy, PhD, Assistant Professor and Canada Research Chair in Particle Technology and Combustion Engineering, Carleton University


Drone Deliveries

Moataz Mohamed, PhD, Acting Directory, McMaster Institute, Transporation & Logistics, Associate Professor, Civil Engineering, McMaster University

12:30 PM
Networking Lunch
1:15 PM

Hamilton's Road to Decarbonization

Trevor Imhoff, Senior Project Manager, Office of Climate Change Initiatives, City of Hamilton

1:45 PM

Featured Presentation

Steelport: Industry Reimagined
Steven Dejonckheere
Senior VP Development, Slate Asset Management

2:30 PM

Integrated Community Energy 

Jim Cotton, PhD, Department of Mechanical Engineering, McMaster University, and Co-Director, McMaster Institute for Energy Studies

Katherine Sparkes, Director of Innovation, Independent Electricity Systems Operator

Jason Rioux, Chief Development Officer, NRStor

Jeff Cowan, President and CEO, Hamilton Community Enterprises

Enbridge TBD

ESG Strategies and Carbon Markets

Lindsay Hampson, Sustainability Advisor and Founder, ThisRock

Cloe McElhone, Policy Analyst - Advisory, ClearBlue Markets

Technology Driven Sustainable Mobility

Okka Maw, Integrated Mobility Consultant, Mobycon

Matthew Sweet, Manager, Active Transportation, Transportation and Works Department, City of Mississauga

Rachel Johnson, Project Manager, Sustainable Mobility, City of Hamilton

In Development


3:30 PM

Geothermal Exchange

Joshua Fitzpatrick, REsearch Consultant, Hamilton Community Enterprises

John Rathbone, President, Rathco ENG

Stanley Reitsma, PhD, CEO, Geosource Energy Inc.

Josh Giacomodonato, Development Assistant, New Horizon Development Group

Joshua Fitzpatrick, Research Consultant, Hamilton Community Enterprises

Industrial Residual Heat Recovery and Reuse 

David Inkley, VP Development and Engineering, Hamilton Community Enterprises

Smart Transportation Technologies and Systems 

Richard Dunda, Director, Centre for Integrated Transportation and Mobility

4:30 PM
Key Takeaways & Closing Remarks
4:45 PM

featured speakers

Katherine Sparkes

 Director of Innovation, 
Research & Development at the IESO 


Vice President Operations
Parity Inc

Tony Cupido

Research Chair, Sustainable Building Technologies, Mohawk College

John Rathbone

P. Eng., PMP. President
Rathco Eng

Kaitlin Carroll

Retrofit Services Manager
The Atmospheric Fund

Chloe McElhone

Policy Analyst, Advisory